praise the emacs

Praise for emacs, I never use emacs before,
but I stumble on emacs, since I learn so many
“minor” language such as haskell, ocaml, scheme
and each of that language use a different IDE/editor.
at that time, I haven’t found emacs, and if I want to use a language I have to swith the IDE.

I asked myself, is there any IDE that can be “IDE that rule them all”, first I tried eclipse,simply because I am a java programmer and eclipse is my number one choice. it support plugin and most of those minor language is supported by eclipse. however those plugins is in beta version and somethime behave strangely, not to mention that my ‘grumpy old’ laptop is working really hard when I run eclipse. so I looked around,amd tried my self emacs, despite of the strange way to operate, with lot of big capital C and big capital M in the manual.

When I was trying the tutorial I almost gave up, but one thing that struck me really hard is emacs can be operated without mouse, wow I never found that piece of softaware that really elegant (perhaps because it was designed a long time ago when mouse hasn’t invented yet :P). so I was hooked up until now, I am still feeling awkward when using emacs, but i’m perfecting my skill and hoping not need a long time to make my self fluent in make and also make some emacs extension🙂

praise the EMACS.

Leave a Reply

